Alter Ego Home searching for your property

Version Française
Our job, organise your new life
Contact and information au 04.90.59.18.40 - ALTER EGO HOME

AVIGNON and the surrounding area

Stretching along the left bank of the River Rhône, Avignon is the largest city in the département of Vaucluse. The city enjoys a favourable geographical position, close to Orange, Nîmes, Arles, Salon de Provence, and Marseille. Christened “the City of the Popes” because of the presence here of the ‘French popes’ (1309–1423), who kept some States (Comtat Venaissin) in the South of France right up to the Revolution, it is now the largest city and the administrative centre of the département of Vaucluse. It’s one of the few cities in France to have kept its ancient ramparts and historic centre, comprising the Papal Palace, the episcopal complex, the Rocher des Doms, and Avignon Bridge. It is now listed as UNESCO World Heritage under criteria I, II, and IV.

The Summer Festival instituted by Jean Vilar in 1947 has made it the worldwide rendezvous for contemporary creation for over 60 years now. The city receives nearly 4 million visitors a year for its Festival.

Avignon is also the perfect place to stay for exploring the Luberon, the Alpilles, the Camargue, and all the beauty that is Provence.

And Avignon is also Provençal food and the Côtes du Rhône wines to sample, and a place where you can combine indulgence shopping, exploring, and lifestyle.

Key statistics

Population 89,300
Avignon is
7,000 businesses
1,550 associations
1,764 retailers
1,305 service providers.
Avignon has 27 state nursery schools, 34 state primary schools, 5 private nursery and primary schools.

In terms of communications, Avignon is well served, with nearby:

  • the A7 motorway providing a north-south linkk between Paris and the French Riviera;
  • a second motorway, the A9 (a few kilometres further north), heading for the West of France and the Iberian peninsula;
  • two rail stations, both able to accommodate high-speed trains (Avignon-Centre and Avignon TGV; Avignon TGV) ;
  • the River Rhône, frequented by cruise boats.

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

Ranks as the 3rd region of France by population and wealth; boasting 4.7 million residents, it ranks 3rd among the regions of France by wealth - 19th among the regions of Europe. It is home to the ITER thermonuclear project at the Cadarache site. The Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region possesses an exceptional environment, making it sufficiently attractive that it is one of the world’s leading tourist destinations (it caters for 34 million tourists every year).
This attractiveness, which also forms the basis for one of the greatest concentrations of intellectual and technological resources in Europe, makes it a powerful region in terms of economic activity, in sectors as varied as telecommunications, microelectronics, life sciences, aerospace, marine technologies and multimedia activities, as well as food processing, chemicals and logistics. Note the various business parks such as Aix Les Milles, Cle Sud in Miramas, Sophia Antipolis in Nice.
Contact us! +33 (0)4 90 42 19 45
Follow us
Facebook
Our region
Site map
Alter Ego Home © 2007-2018  |  Legal notices  |  Création PMP CONCEPT

Alter Ego Home Chasseur de biens immobiliers

English Version
Notre métier, organiser votre nouvelle vie
Contact et information au 04.90.59.18.40 - ALTER EGO HOME

AVIGNON et sa région

S’étendant sur la rive gauche du Rhône, Avignon est la plus grande ville du département du Vaucluse (30). Proche d’Orange, de Nîmes, d’Arles, de Salon de Provence et de Marseille, la ville profite d’une situation géographique favorable. Surnommée la « cité des papes » en raison de l’installation des papes de 1309 à 1423, qui conservèrent des États (Comtat Venaissin) dans le sud de la France jusqu’à la Révolution, elle est actuellement la plus grande ville et chef-lieu du département de Vaucluse. C'est l'une des rares villes françaises à avoir conservé ses anciens remparts, son centre historique, composé du palais des papes, de l'ensemble épiscopal, du Rocher des Doms et du pont d’Avignon, elle a été classée Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO sous les critères I, II et IV.

Son festival d’été créé en 1947 par Jean Vilar en fait depuis plus 60 ans maintenant le rendez-vous mondial de la création contemporaine. Chaque année, la ville accueille près de 4 millions de visiteurs à l’occasion de son Festival.

Avignon est aussi un lieu de séjour idéal pour découvrir le Luberon, les Alpilles, la Camargue et toutes les beautés de Provence.

Avignon c’est encore la cuisine provençale et les vins des Côtes du Rhône à déguster et un lieu où l’on peut allier shopping, découverte et art de vivre.

Chiffres Clés

89.300 Avignonnais et Avignonnaises
Avignon, c’est
7.000 entreprises
1.550 associations
1.764 commerces
1.305 prestataires de services.
Avignon bénéficie de 27 écoles maternelles publiques, 34 écoles primaires publiques, 5 écoles maternelles et primaires privées.

La ville d'Avignon est bien desservie ; on peut noter à proximité :

  • une autoroute, l'A7, relie le nord au sud, Paris à la Côte d'Azur ;
  • une deuxième autoroute, l'A9 (à quelques kilomètres au nord), en direction de l'ouest de la France et de la péninsule ibérique ;
  • deux gares, toutes deux aptes à recevoir des TGV (Avignon-Centre et Avignon TGV) ;
  • le Rhône, parcouru par des bateaux de croisières.

Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

3e région de France en population et en richesse; Forte de ses 4,7 millions d’habitants, celle-ci se classe au 3e rand des régions françaises par sa richesse - au 19e rang des régions européennes Terre d’accueil d’ITER sur le site de Cadarache. Bénéficiant d’un environnement exceptionnel, la réion Procence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur déploie une attractivité qui en fait l’une des première destinations touristiques mondiales (34 millions de touristes accueillis chaque année). Cette attractivité, également à
l’origine d’une des plus fortes concentrations de ressources intellectuelles et technologiques d’Europe, se traduit par une épuisante activité économiques, dans des secteurs aussi variés que les télécommunications, la micro-électronique, les sciences du vivant, l’aéronautique et l’espace, les technologies de la mer, le multimédia, mais aussi l’agro-alimentaire, la chimie et la logistique. Voir les différents pôles d’activités tel que Aix Les Milles, Cle Sud à Miramas, Sophia Antipolis à Nice ...etc.
Contactez-nous ! +33 (0)4 90 42 19 45
Suivez-nous
Facebook
Notre région
Plan site
Alter Ego Home © 2007-2018  |  Mentions légales  |  Création PMP CONCEPT